342: The Thorn Birds

I had to put A Game of Thrones and Roots to the side to finish this book. Was it worth it?

wish my copy looked like this. I have the dull movie cover. Then again  this cover  would have been a total waste of makeup.

Synopsis
Powered by the dreams and struggles of three generations, THE THORN BIRDS is the epic saga of a family rooted in the Australian sheep country. At the story’s heart is the love of Meggie Cleary, who can never possess the man she desperately adores, and Ralph de Bricassart, who rises from parish priest to the inner circles of the Vatican…but whose passion for Meggie will follow him all the days of his life.”

Review
The Good
At the beginning the story was incredible. The Thorn Birds had the beautiful setting of Australia. A setting that I have not come across in my reading before. In the beginning the story was about the Cleary family, their struggles. Their struggles as a family and dealing with the setting of Australia which is not kind.  It was also about a cast of characters who were not apart of the family but felt like they were. The good may seem short and vague. Honestly, it is hard to remember the good times and points because all of it went down bad.

The Bad
The beginning of the end of my enjoyment of this book came in the story reaching its latter half and focusing exclusively on Meggie. If Meggie was a better more interesting less irritating character it would have been okay. Most of my issues with Meggies character is  spoilers. Just know that everything that became of her was a waste. The only facet to Meggie’s life and character is her love with Ralph, seriously. Honestly, the love story was not a problem at first. Actually it was pretty enjoyable at first. Then the romance continued and not in a way that was satisfactory. So much going around in circles to reach no end. Where is the awesome family at the beginning of the story? Where is the  interesting setting of Australia? All of the good parts of the story took a backseat to the star-crossed love of Meggie and Ralph. Oh, wait taking a backseat means that they actually mention them. Some characters just disappeared to never be seen again. It seems like the author forgot that she built this ENTIRE family. To give them the off-hand treatment is a disservice to every thing developed in the earlier half of the book. It feels like the first half of the book was a complete waste. If you are not going to do anything else with them but vaguely mention them in the latter half of the book why make the reader invest so much in those characters in the first place? Anyway moving on to my next problem.  The religious aspect in this book was poorly done. It tried to make a certain character the ultimate saintly god loving person. I did not feel it, and it made me think of Les Miserables and Pillars of The Earth who handled it better.  The descriptions of anything became unbearably boring. Years went by in a sentence. People died in anticlimactic deaths. Not people we have known for five pages but characters who have been in the story since the very beginning. Are we really going to give this person a death like this? In a sentence really. Ask me how they died? I have no earthly idea. I actually had to take a double take to realize that character actually even died. I wanted to slap and shake so many of the characters in the latter half. The latter half was just a complete and awful waste of time to sum it all up. Makes me question the whole purpose of this story.

The Meh
The Ending. I read the end of the story and have no feeling towards it. The new characters and  their relationship with anybody could careless. A moment came when I thought that it was all over my enjoyment was not there, then the author threw me a gift(at least it seemed like a gift at the time). I thought she knows that these characters are annoying and I want to give them a slap shake. But at last it did not go anywhere or change anything so it is meh to the tenth degree.

I decided to put A Game of Thrones and Roots two books that I enjoy down. I could not put this book down, I had a feeling that it would not be picked back up. So I pushed myself to finish this book in two days. My eye has hurts and I probably will not be able to read for the rest of this week for this. Well, I get to continue my tradition of my first book of the year being eh.

Books that in my opinion did it better
On the religious aspectLes Miserables by Victor Hugo
Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
Not abandoning the setting, characters, my interest~ Lonesome Dove by Larry Mcmurty

I know I keep mentioning these books but they are good books. Also they are the only big books that I have read.

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

Leave a Reply

