338: Anna Karenina

I love girls in dresses

How I started the story: I saw the movie edition of the book on the shelf while shopping for thanksgiving groceries with my mom. I started reading it while waiting for my mom as she was doing something. I  was immediately hooked on the first page. The only reason it did not get bought that day is I can not get myself to spend $15 dollars for any book.

Synopsis:

Anna Karenina tells of the doomed love affair between the sensuous and rebellious Anna and the dashing officer, Count Vronsky. Tragedy unfolds as Anna rejects her passionless marriage and must endure the hypocrisies of society. Set against a vast and richly textured canvas of nineteenth-century Russia, the novel’s seven major characters create a dynamic imbalance, playing out the contrasts of city and country life and all the variations on love and family happiness.”

The Good

Most people when they talk about this book mention the farming and politics as the things that they disliked about the book. I found that those parts were  actually interesting to me for the most part. It may be because my reading mood is for less of a love story and more for other stuff.  What surprised me is how relevant Anna Karenina is to our society today. Most of the topics such as the division between classes is issues we deal with now. The development of the story and characters was what interested me. I feel that all 808 pages in my edition was worth it. I do not usually like adultery books but Anna Karenina is more than a adultery book.

The Meh

I am in between on the ending. Contradictory as it may sound I would have been okay with part eight getting cut. Honestly, I probably would  still complain if it was left the way part seven ended.

The Bad

I feel that when the chips fell not everything was resolved. When it got to that point they focused on characters who did not need attention at that point. Honestly, at the ending I was ready for the story to be over. I cannot fully blame the book. I was the one who decided to read 200+ pages of a  classic book in a week. Nonetheless, it went downhill on this final week of reading Anna Karenina. I forgot names and really just did not care. The political stuff really started getting on my nerves a bit. The politics at this point was pointless really. Not like the beginning politics that actually mattered. Then again I cannot blame politics when my real issue was with Levin. Some people said up to this point about the book that they don’t like Levin because he over thinks things. At first he was a well done character then he just started analyzing stuff that is not a big deal. Levin was annoying as a character at this point. All the characters except a small few characters were annoying at this point. All the relationships in this book got on my nerves at this point. Everyone was fighting over petty stuff. It was not pretty.

Final Conclusion:  Anna Karenina encompasses why I am into big books right now. It has the well-developed characters and story. It has so much and is worth those 808 pages. As crazy as it sound if Tolstoy would have made it longer I would have been okay with that as long as he fixes a couple of things  (mainly that part 8). Despite all the issues I like it.

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

2 thoughts on “338: Anna Karenina”

Leave a Reply

