30 Day Book Challenge

I found this challenge at:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-DObsq8oGM

Challenge: Read 30 books in 30 days.

I  view it as a extended version of checking books out from the library.  It is just 9 more days added to the usual length that I get to check books from the library for.

A couple of Things I will say period. Doing this challenge is contradictory to my reading goal for this year. I am supposed to not do numbered challenges but …

  • I am reading like a snail. Not the snail that I usually am but a super slow going on not finishing any books for this month snail.
  • I am not excited like I want to be about the books I am reading. There are so many reasons that could be attributed to this. I think it has something to do with the books be books I own  not being  new, shiny library books. ( I want to go to the library so bad. Sadly, that might not even help the state I am in.) I feel that I need to do something to excite or kick start my reading.
  • Numbered challenges while having burned me in the past could work taking into account my reading style. Plus, it is always good to comeback and say you know what I did not see the full picture.
  • After I finish this challenge I will most definitely not continue doing a numbered challenge for the rest of the year.

A couple of things I need to say to my future self:

  • Don’t Be afraid to dump books.
  • Don’t be afraid to put books down until later.
  • So this is a win for you either you can finish, dump, or make progress in a bunch of books.
  • Do not be afraid to take a day off.
  • Do not force yourself or feel that you need to finish books. (Remember the 100 book challenges) You are not going to read 30 books in 30 days because you do not usually read 30 books in a month. Also, you dump about 30 books in a month. So do not stress yourself because you will not obtain this goal. I will probably read 7-8 books at the end of the challenge because for every 1 book I finish I dump 4.
  • Please, do not spend all day reading! Take a break play The Sims and watch your Asian shows.

 

3o Books in  30 Days

  1. David Copperfield- classic
  2. One Hundred Years of Solitude- classic, magic realism
  3. The Observations- historical fiction, mystery, gothic
  4. Misfortune- historical fiction
  5. Scandalous Countess- historical fiction, 18th century
  6. Nine Princes In Amber-sf, fantasy
  7. The Vampire Lestat- paranormal
  8. Louisa May Alcott and the Missing Heiress- mystery, historical fiction
  9. Ginger Star- fantasy, sf
  10. Girl Interrupted-nonfiction
  11. Orphans of the Sky- sf
  12. Phoenix Rising – sf,fantasy, mystery, steam punk
  13. A Day No Pigs Will Die- ya, historical fiction, classic
  14. Cabin Fever- humor, middle grade
  15. Tess of D’ubervilles- classic

I am only putting half for my spontaneousness when reading. There is not a guarantee that I will even read all of these books.

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

Leave a Reply

