Gone With the Wind Checkout Review

I usually put all my book reviews for library books all in one post. I could not do that for this book because it is 1,037 pages and I have a lot of feelings that need to be put into a long post.

This book had me feeling and saying things that I do not usually say.

Synopsis

Set against the dramatic backdrop of the American Civil War, Margaret Mitchell’s epic love story is an unforgettable tale of love and loss, of a nation mortally divided and its people forever changed. At the heart of all this chaos is the story of beautiful, ruthless Scarlett ‘O’ Hara and the dashing soldier of fortune, Rhett Butler.

The Good

  • First of all, I actually found American history interesting. I’m bored with English history right now.  English historical fiction seems like it is the same girl trying to marry the same king. Gone with the Wind is not a generic historical fiction book in the slightest.
  • I felt that the world was so expansive and interesting.
  • Parts 1-2 were really  when the book shined.
  • Scarlet. I actually started off liking her because she was not  the basic, generic historical chick. She was selfish, consisted, and self-absorbed. She would do something that was questionable, meaning I did not exactly agree with. Then she would do something that under normal circumstances I would not agree with but I was okay with. I ate it up and loved it. The author stayed true to her character throughout the book.
  •  The characters were three-dimensional. You saw there characters in every action they did.
  • Rhett. Whenever Rhett stepped on the scene he brightened the book. He is the only character that did not get a default eye roll  in the late parts of the book.
  • The romance was done really well. The relationship actually developed over a period of time were it involved the characters being friends first. A relationship and romance like this  cannot happen again in modern times. ( the romance is not as big in the story as many people think.)

The Bad

I can honestly agree with most people on why they did not like the book. Once the civil war ends the book got really rough.  Everything was perfect  at first there was dancing and parties. Scarlett actually was a unique and interesting character. Honestly, all the characters and their back story was interesting, at first.

The funny thing is the part that I was pushing for to happen  is the part that made me almost dnf the book. I was waiting anxiously for the Civil War to end so I could see all these people deal with the fall out. Once the Civil War ended little flaws started popping up. Then those small things turned into big things that I couldn’t ignore. It was a waste land and perfect ground for Scarlett to let her personality out without holding back.

  • Scarlett got infuriating after a while.   I wanted something to connect to but there was nothing else to her.   So I was irritated and annoyed with her for a lot of the book. I had to think If I got sick of her at this point. Frankly, I do not know how people who did not like her initially could do it.

Her:

Me:  at all why people hate you. I do have a dozen theories.

Her:

Me:

Me for the majority of the book:  then what is even more annoying is that everybody (the author and other readers) praised her for it.

  • Anything dealing with slaves, freedmen, or African-Americans in general was  hard to bear. First of all I can tell you with my general  basic knowledge that this is historically inaccurate.  Let me round-up the argument for this treatment ( confederates and people from the 1930s, the period author wrote this book, would probably would not match present day society opinions. So people should not expect our present day society’s opinion in this book.)

I had to read through pages upon pages of the author comparing characters to apes and using every word in the thesaurus to get across that Mammy is overweight. No.

  • I just wanted to put it down so badly after a while. I wanted to put the book down so many times. I just wanted to stop and come back later. I could not put it down because of my refusal to buy the book and have it lying around.  I refuse check out this book again. If I put the book down I was not going to most likely pick it up again.  Things got so bad that I would find ways not to read.  I would be reading then find myself daydreaming or just thinking for randomly. Then, I started playing apps on my phone. I usually spend the time that people spend playing apps reading. Apps are very fun by the way.   

So I was a caged reader not able to flutter from book to book. I was reading purely to finish it.

  • I’m surprised my eyes did not rupture from all the eye rolls I gave. I almost never say this for big books but this needed to be cut. I feel that after a while people were just appearing for no reason. [insert new character] does something that I do not care about. Then it became really insanely repetitive.

After a while I felt like saying to  almost every  character:  

  • Then characters started doing all these things that are not accurate to them as a character. In other words the author sloppily tried to show character development. While also, she used characters to promote her ideas. It almost dragged down the only character I did not default eye roll.
  • Another thing I thought I would never do is debate on whether to give a book this long a 2-3 star. I was under this assumption that if I finish a book this big it immediately deserved at the least a four star. What  really surprised me is when I looked up when the problems started, part 3 or chapter 17 onwards. That is chapter 17 of 63. I came out the end of this book feeling not mad or happy. My first thought at the ending was: oh, okay. I wanted to characterize this emotion. What is this feeling? I realized that I had the same feeling with Hate List. It is the feeling of disappointment. I got sad because both books held greatness in their hands then let it go. Also, I felt sad because I have been dealing with being disappointed a lot with books lately. So many books have so much potential but squander it.

The Meh

The feminism was nothing new or that exciting.

Final Comments: As much as this book is shrug inducing, I know that it does not need a sequel. It ended the way it needed to.  Gone With the Wind made me angry about a lot of things. One of them being the impression that I am getting that anything dealing with African-Americans does not have to be historically accurate even today (Kathryn Stockett). It really brought out all my feelings about how minorities are not represented in fiction. You know what never mind any issue or controversial topic is going to be handled sloppily by authors. So many things that make me angry resurfacing again. Keep Calm and look at this kitty.

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

One thought on “Gone With the Wind Checkout Review”

Leave a Reply

