315: From Dead to Worse (Sookie Stackhouse #8) Spoilers

2233407

Synopsis

After the natural disaster of Hurricane Katrina and the manmade explosion at the vampire summit, everyone human and otherwise is stressed, including Louisiana cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse, who is trying to cope with the fact that her boyfriend Quinn has gone missing.

It’s clear that things are changing whether the weres and vamps of her corner of Louisiana like it or not. And Sookie, Friend to the Pack and blood-bonded to Eric Northman, leader of the local vampire community is caught up in the changes.

In the ensuing battles, Sookie faces danger, death, and once more, betrayal by someone she loves. And when the fur has finished flying and the cold blood finished flowing, her world will be forever altered.

The Bad

  • The longer this series goes on the less I can bring myself to care about any of the characters.
  • I am annoyed with how dumb/clueless Charlaine Harris makes Sookie. Why can’t Sookie put a simple 2 plus 2 of the implications of all supernatural creatures being outed?
  • “Wars” keep happening. I can’t get myself to actually care first of all because I generally am apathetic to every character and I feel that these wars are becoming more frequent and less interesting.
  • I just feel like these recent books are filler.  It is a weird thing to say when wars and stuff like that are happening. It is especially weird since I am usually complaining about the lack of action in books. The issue here is that the action has to be actually interesting.
  • The humor is gone.What happened to everyone’s witty lines?

Sookie is getting on my nerves

 I. She is  Selfish  and Self absorbed

and not in a interesting way like Scarlet at the beginning of Gone with the Wind.

  • Alcide can’t even have a moment to mourn a girlfriend who died without it being a affront to Sookie.
  •  Sookie broke up with Quinn because he didn’t call her when he was being watched by vampires in the process of protecting his family from being killed. Sookie said she wanted to come first but Sookie you are not in moral danger so why would I put someone who is okay before my family who is in danger?
  • She got mad at Alecide for not protecting her during the wereshifters war. So Alecide cannot protect himself he is a top level werewolf so he needs to protect himself. Sookie could have totally sat herself down off to the side somewhere. Instead of Sookie going off somewhere to sit down while the wereshifters fought she felt the need to sit around and at a certain point join in the attack.
  • Sookie actually had someone put a spell on someone because she doesn’t like them. Not because she was in actual mortal danger or anything, mind you.

II. Everything is about her

and not in a way that this is her series so of course everything is about her. It is done in a way that I’m getting bothered by how Charlaine Harris is framing things in the story.

  • Why does every man seem to be in love with Sookie?
  • Now that we are on the subject, why does every man feel the need to bind over backwards for Sookie?
  • Why does every man/woman either in love with her or have something against her?
  • Why is Tara her friend but barely ever appears in the: either she is doing a service to Sookie or being victimized.

Things I wish would  happen but I know will not

I can see little gems of great ideas that could really make this series awesome such as

  • all the supernatural creatures being outed and the world dealing with it.
  • Sookie being more than a waitress, not trying to put down waitresses or anything. In the last book Sookie was helping to save people lives and that made me think she could be doing that. Sookie could be doing more as  a character towards her life.
  • Sookie to mature. I want everything to not be about Sookie.
  • New underrepresent supernatural creatures. I was so in love with the second book because it was interesting first of all and it had a supernatural creature I never heard of. My reaction: What is this, I have to actually look up a supernatural creature because I don’t know what it is.
  • I want all the characters to have more depth. Every one is a prop or something for the story/Sookie.

The Good

It’s easy to read so I could get through it without DNFing it.

Comment:I think about way  back when what the series used to be. I heard people talking about how the series goes down in the later books, I did not believe it. I see it now. I am sort of worried that I am going to pick one of these books one day and say no more then stop reading the series all together. It has gotten to that point of me thinking if this was any other series/author it would be a dnf. I think I am hitting the hate reading mode were you just read a book to rant about it.

I am going to have to pick wisely the next book I read because the next book I finish needs to wow me.

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

Leave a Reply

