317: Misery

Synopsis 

Paul Sheldon. He’s a bestselling novelist who has finally met his biggest fan. Her name is Annie Wilkes and she is more than a rabid reader—she is Paul’s nurse, tending his shattered body after an automobile accident. But she is also his captor, keeping him prisoner in her isolated house. Now Annie wants Paul to write his greatest work—just for her. She has a lot of ways to spur him on. One is a needle. Another is an ax. And if they don’t work, she can get really nasty…

The Good

  • gory.
  • Right away into the action. I did not have to wait 50+ pages to get to the good stuff.
  • action packed throughout the book
  • The overall writing process. It made me think about how authors view their books vs how readers view their books. I thought about  authors having characters that they can’t stand.
  • While I am still trying to read The Stand nope dumped it between finally posting this review, which is not a terrible book no but it is boring and too long, but it is long and is not on the action stuff at the part I am at. In result of that my impression of him was eh. Misery made me remember all the excitement and best of his writing. Then I read some more of his other books and lost it again.
  • I was so scared in the real world that some crazy person was coming to get me.

The Bad

Some of the slang  such as cockadoodie got a bit annoying towards the end. Also, the chapters with the excerpts from the novel the author in the book was writing was boring.

The Meh

I don’t know how I feel about the ending though. It was not bad but it did not go out with a bang.

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

Leave a Reply

