Library Checkout 9/10/14 (+1 Chapter Test/Mini-rant)

I was supposed to be reading the books I own. I drafted a plan and everything (I’m totally going to post the plan anyway). So while being in my school library to do work I felt myself getting  stressed. The only thing that would help me not to be stressed was walking around looking at books. My original plan was  to just sample the books in-between doing assignments but that did not happen.

The best thing about University so far is the school library. It has all these books I’ve never heard of.

9714385830330

I was supposed to be just sampling these books so they are books I already own. My copy of The Mills On The Floss is old and looks like if I blow on it too hard it will fall apart. So I definitely will read the library copy if I like it. Well, I did not like either of these. Both of them were not engaging. My problem with Wives and Daughters is that it starts off with telling the tale of a girl then goes into info dump territory. The way to succeed at info dump is for the reader to care. This story wants to go straight into info dump territory without laying down the foundation of making me care about any of the characters. Mills On The Floss started with a chapter about nature, something that if you read classics know is not uncommon.  DNF both

1120924

In between all these popular classics I want to get some lesser known classics.  I really want to read more lesser known books in my overall reading. It can be difficult to find and get lesser known books especially with the heaviness of the well known works. This book just starts off weird. It has one of those chapters were you don’t know what is going on and you are supposed to be so intrigued that you keep going. The problem is that for one I don’t have the time to read 4 or 5 chapters just to care. And for two I don’t have care. Can books actually start a first chapter off with something that makes the reader care, please, seriously please?  I was rooting for this book so hard *sigh*. Almost,  Every last one of these books has a subpart first chapter. So every book is going back to the library without me finishing them.  DNF

123557 I might comeback to this one, maybe. I did not get a chance to finish the first chapter.

I got this book on a whim. It is the first book that got my attention at the University library. I saw it in the ya section which is the first section that I could find (The library is in library of congress cauterization, kind of confusing at first. The library has a very good young adult book section by the way. They have older young adult books and newer young adult books together. ).

My experience with school libraries has shown them to be good places to get popular books. I can probably even get books that have 20-30 people on the public library waiting list at my school library.

Reading is probably the only recreational activity I have time to do during the week. Well, I don’t have time but I make time because reading is seriously one of the things that is keeping me sane in college.

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

Leave a Reply

