March & A Bit of April Bookhaul/Unbookhaul

2232993923153020

I read Next Top Villain so fast that I really didn’t do anything in the companion novel. I finished Next Top Villain in like 2-3 days which is fast for me especially with a novel. Even more this is special since I had been having such a hard time even getting into novels. Kiss And Spell hopefully will have come by the time I post this. I’m excited to see new characters.

8686068

I doubt I will like this. I got it because it was for one thing not at my library. Also, it has Japanese characters and is a mystery. It could go either way on the like scale but more than likely I will not like it.

Yasuko Hanaoka is a divorced, single mother who thought she had finally escaped her abusive ex-husband Togashi. When he shows up one day to extort money from her, threatening both her and her teenaged daughter Misato, the situation quickly escalates into violence and Togashi ends up dead on her apartment floor. Overhearing the commotion, Yasuko’s next door neighbor, middle-aged high school mathematics teacher Ishigami, offers his help, disposing not only of the body but plotting the cover-up step-by-step.

When the body turns up and is identified, Detective Kusanagi draws the case and Yasuko comes under suspicion. Kusanagi is unable to find any obvious holes in Yasuko’s manufactured alibi and yet is still sure that there’s something wrong. Kusanagi brings in Dr. Manabu Yukawa, a physicist and college friend who frequently consults with the police. Yukawa, known to the police by the nickname Professor Galileo, went to college with Ishigami. After meeting up with him again, Yukawa is convinced that Ishigami had something to do with the murder. What ensues is a high level battle of wits, as Ishigami tries to protect Yasuko by outmaneuvering and outthinking Yukawa, who faces his most clever and determined opponent yet.

Already gave up on this book.

264351

I found this is exciting but equally underwhelming. I can’t get into classics like I did the year before last.

 

 

 

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

Leave a Reply

