301: The Lying Game

8428069

 I had a life anyone would kill for. 

Then someone did.

The worst part of being dead is that there’s nothing left to live for. No more kisses. No more secrets. No more gossip. It’s enough to kill a girl all over again. But I’m about to get something no one else does–an encore performance, thanks to Emma, the long-lost twin sister I never even got to meet.

Now Emma’s desperate to know what happened to me. And the only way to figure it out is to be me–to slip into my old life and piece it all together. But can she laugh at inside jokes with my best friends? Convince my boyfriend she’s the girl he fell in love with? Pretend to be a happy, care-free daughter when she hugs my parents goodnight? And can she keep up the charade, even after she realizes my murderer is watching her every move?

From Sara Shepard, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Pretty Little Liars books, comes a riveting new series about secrets, lies, and killer consequences.

Let the lying game begin.

The Good

  • Romance Aspect
Looking back it is not the best but the small bit that was there was interesting.
  • Genuine Friendship/family moments
I really enjoyed seeing Sutton have a genuine connection with the people around her.

The Bad

  • Lack of diversity
There are 99 dark-haired characters described but only three persons of color (two of them are workers)
  • P.O.V is confusing most of the time
The switching point of views between Sutton and Emma were not properly made distinguishable. It would switch point of views in the same paragraph so I wouldn’t know who is thinking what.
  • Faulty logic
    This is especially true in the final chapters and how Sutton can not see something if Emma is blindfolded even though she is a ghost.
  • It can be predictable and obvious at times
  • Lack of suspense
This needed to be either:
A. 1-3 books
B. A Standalone
I could see the threads being stretched and the narrative being purposefully cryptic to make the mystery last 6 books.
  • Reading interest dwindled after I read it.
I left this disappointed and feeling nothing.

The Meh

  • The Group Think aspect of the story were people follow someone even though they are mean and don’t seem to really like the main character is  questionable. Also, the people who participated with the main characters wrong doing never gets checked neither here or Pretty Little Liars. If something was done with this it would have made this story a bit more interesting.
  • It’s similar to Pretty Little Liars
Why I Read The Lying Game…
 I went into this book immediately thinking that this is not going to be amazing but may be entertaining. After I sampled it I  thought it is okay that I like this but don’t love it.
1. Nostalgia
From watching half-watching The Lying Game show on Netflix  and reading Pretty Little Liars series book 1-4. I have memories of being annoyed with most of the story until it got to the end. The endings were so twisty and suspenseful that I kept going on until I got to the 4th book.
2. It is a popular enough book to have a bunch of people review it not only on goodreads but also youtube.
3. I wanted to annotate something.
I won’t annotate my comics or picture books. I don’t have a desire to read any of the books I own. So this was the book I ended up picking up.
4. It would’ve expanded my reading.

A. Easy to find

B. Cheap

The books I’m reading now don’t have most of these things. They are hard to find period. There was a point in time when I was reading this book that I was so excited about the possibility of being into y.a. because it would mean so many things. I feel so limited in my reading scope at times.  I don’t know how to expand my reading when I have so many genres and categories that displease me.
5. I was sick (according to my brother this is one of the reasons I got into this book)
Having read this I felt that disappointment that I know is more than likely present in other y.a. If I continue I will be coming back into that dissatisfaction that caused me to get into reading slumps every five minutes a couple of years ago.  Now I want a really suspenseful book so bad in my reading life.

[synopsis and cover image is from goodreads]

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

Leave a Reply

