305: EAH:Kiss And Spell (Spoilers)

23153020

Synopsis

What’s a girl to do when she accidentally turns her crush into a frog? Ginger Breadhouse had a hard time growing up with the Candy Witch for a mom. It’s not easy making friends if everyone believes your mom tried to cook Hansel and Gretel! But now that Ginger’s attending Ever After High, she has a chance to forge her own path, and she’s trying to make a name for herself as the host of the MirrorCast show Spells Kitchen. The problem is, she needs viewers!
Ginger hopes a magical recipe from Professor Rumpelstiltskin will be a showstopper — but when the magic backfires, it turns Hopper Croakington II, son of the Frog Prince, into a small green amphibian! And the longer he remains under the spell, the more froglike he becomes. Can Ginger turn Hopper back into his regular self before it’s too late?
Don’t miss the companion activity book, Science and Sorcery!

The Hexcellent

 I do not experience a lot of books that are so good that I finish them in three days. As soon as I started it I was hooked. The entire Ever After High series gives me a magic that I rarely experience with novels now. That feeling of staying up to read because you cannot put the book down.

  • Ginger is such an interesting character.
  • Backstory
  • Her mom is an active part of the story.
  • Made me like Blondie Locks more than I did before – Her and Ginger friendship is cute
  • Ginger and Hopper are meant to be together, yeah!

The Bad

I don’t like that Ginger is not allowed to have a relationship with Hopper. I understand that committing to something as big as forever happily ever after is a big step  but it seems like they don’t want to give the brown girls any relationships. Letting Hopper think that Briar performed true loves first kiss is encouraging his fawning over her. Briar seems to very much not be into Hopper but he keeps chasing after her. This is the same issue I had with Dexter going after Raven Queen. I want them to make these guys deal with the girls not liking them or show the girls being even the slightest bit interest. Anyway, I don’t want Ginger to be another brown character who is put through and dateless.

Conclusion

Kiss and Spell is my favorite of the series so far.

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

Leave a Reply

