Discontinue or Continue 2/3/16

[comic vine]

 Did not like it from page one because I immediately just did not care about it.  It overall feels like they don’t know where they want to go with this series. I did side eye, Sally-O, the only black girl in the book seemingly existing to service the white girl  main character.

Discontinue

28400072

Pro: Harley Quinn makes an appearance (Harley and Ivy relationship is cute).

Con: Poison Ivy and Harley were not fun here. Poison Ivy like All Nighter did not seem like they knew where it wanted to go either. Then the story had one of those we are so feminist moments  -_-  You know when the men are hassling  a woman and they go in and save the woman. It feels surface level.

Overall, I don’t think it was terrible but it wasn’t exciting.

Discontinue

27970952

Pro: The main character and everything she did was so cute. That is why it is sad how accurate it is to middle school bullying. A certain part of the story (not trying to spoil anything) had me about to tear up.

Con: I’m not in love with it yet

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur actually reminds me of the Oh No! picture book series.

Continue

23609469

Pro: It’s feminist, racial and body diversity, addresses racial things especially dealing with feminism, it handled the exposition of the way of the world well (Poison Ivy looking at you)

Pro/Con: don’t know how I feel about the portrayal of the plus sized character.

Continue

Conclusion

These comics I read where eh for the most part. I didn’t find anything that I loved but I think that there is potential for the ones I decided to continue.

What is up with these miniseries being slow/meandering? It seems like they don’t know where they want to go. I guess it makes sense why they are miniseries versus ongoing. If they know they are going to be limited run things need to be tighter.

[all images from goodreads except All Nighter ]

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

2 thoughts on “Discontinue or Continue 2/3/16”

  1. Bitch Planet in theory sounds great, but I’ve seen a few luke-warm reviews, so for me the jury is still out. And until it is, I’ll just keep it under my radar.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I agree. I think the first issue was okay but not great. I don’t know how I feel about how the overall treatment of feminism or buying the next issue. I’ll probably end up getting it eventually but yeah.

      Like

Leave a Reply

