336: Valley of the Dolls

 This is an old review I drafted so my opinion is kind of outdated on this: I saw a post on trash literature on this book either  before starting this book or early into it. I do not think it was that trashy. Then again I may have a high tolerance. All I know is that I liked it enough to read it to the end.

27070076

Synopsis:

Dolls: red or black; capsules or tablets; washed down with vodka or swallowed straight-for Anne, Neely, and Jennifer, it doesn’t matter, as long as the pill bottle is within easy reach. These three women become best friends when they are young and struggling in New York City and then climb to the top of the entertainment industry-only to find that there is no place left to go but down-into the Valley of the Dolls.

Review

This book was a very weird haze that I went through. Since this came out during the 60s I was not harsh on it like I would be with current day authors.

First of all, there is no character development to speak of. Second, events happen and never get a mention again. Yep, this was campy. There was a poem at the beginning of this novel that really fit the entirety of the novel.

I definitely don’t regret reading it but I feel if I read it now I probably would not like it.

Random

I had a weird craving for Mike & Ikes while reading this book.

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

Leave a Reply

