Try A Chapter Tag: Mostly In Limbo

Since I found the Try A Chapter Tag I have been obsessed with it. Basically it is a more structured form of one of my  Samples&Previews posts.

Rules

1.Choose 5+ books that “you have been meaning to read”
2. Read up to the 1st Chapter (prologue included)
3.Yes or No, will you finish or set it aside?

Most of the  books I picked are in that space between officially own books  and getting rid of/adding to own list.

13588088

The Creature From the Seventh Grade: Boy or Beast

The writing was off with this one. It had terribly done exposition: story  from idea to idea without correlation and the world building is not seamless. I feel the prologue and first chapter should’ve been edited down to one  single chapter for structure. In terms of the content of the story the main character is a stereotypical unpopular kid *yawn*

Verdict: Yes No Maybe

17707710

Bait

It gets straight into the action which is so exciting and refreshing. Tells you a lot about the characters without directly telling, aka showing not telling (which Boy or Beast suffered from).

The tagline “Jaws meets Lord of the Flies meets Drugstore Cowboy”= I would say more Jaws meets The Most Dangerous Game.

Verdict: Yes No Maybe

Who Goes There, Lincoln?

Another book that has better exposition than Boy or Beast. I do like that the main character is black. I also like that his family has little threads about them to possibly pull on later. The problem is that this story feels bare which makes me not care about it.

Verdict: Yes No Maybe

8686068

The Devotion of Suspect X

I like that the characters and setting are Japanese.This is one of those books you have to get into. I feel I’m in a light/fun kind of mood. I think this will be serious and philosophical which is not what I want right now.

Verdict: Yes No Maybe

26246451

Truth or Hair

Yep, again exposition not done sloppy. I think I will wait until late August to continue reading this. I do think it is good so far. One thing I like about this series is that all the characters are distinct from each other.

Verdict: Yes No Maybe

Cycle of Thought

Need New Books

There is a discussion that was on my mind after sampling these books about how I need more books that fit me as a reader currently. I think my shelf of books are dated. Yes, a lot of purging happened in the last years because of my blog. However, there has not been a big input of books to match who I am as a reader today.

Cycle

Read Own Books

There are many things that stop me from getting new books.

  • Trying to save money
  • I have high DNF ratio
  • 347 books history has me leery

At the end of this sampling of books I knew I NEEDED  new books. In my next post I will go more in-depth to talk about what I need and don’t need in terms of books.

[all images are from goodreads except Who Goes There, Lincoln which is from amazon.]

Author: themollyweather

I like to read, a lot.

Leave a Reply

